LNC Championships 2021

LNC Championships – all scores [click here]


Winners List – LNC District Championships 2021
Winners Club Score Voucher
District Champion Lindsay VERDON PMGC 71 $200
Senior Champion David BAGUST PMGC 73 $200
Junior Champion Sonny BARCLAY Foster Tuncurry 91 $150
Junior runner Up Rory FALK Foster Tuncurry 101 $100
Div 1
Gross Winner Tristan BRINDLEY Wauchope 72 $120
Gross  Runner Up Richard WENT PMGC 74 $100
Nett Winner Ron MCLAREN PMGC 71 $100
Nett Runner Up Rohan ABBOTT Wingham 72 $80
Div 2
Gross Winner Kevin GROUNSELL PMGC 77 $120
Gross Runner Up Lee THOMPSON PMGC 81 $100
Nett Winner Chris GILBERT Kew 72 $100
Nett Runner Up Ken SHEATHER PMGC 73 $80
Div 3
Gross Winner Mark HAVERFIELD PMGC 88 $120
Gross Runner Up Darren GARVEY PMGC 89 $100
Nett Winner Corey HOWARD Wauchope 71 $100
Nett Runner Up Steve MANTON PMGC 74 $80
Div 4
Gross Winner Viv KING PMGC 91 $120
Gross Runner Up Malcolm TAYLOR Foster Tuncurry 92 $100
Nett Winner Adrian SHORTLAND Wauchope 75 $100
Nett Runner Up Wies NOWAK PMGC 77 $80
District Champion of Champion – Nett Ron CLARK PMGC 73 $100
Monthly Medal Champion – Nett Rohan ABBOTT Wingham 72 $100

Over 135 men golfers competed for the 2021 District Stroke Championships at the Port Macquarie Golf Course. The course was in superb condition with perfect fairways, fast greens and tricky pin positions. The Weather held off to some extent except for stronger winds in the mid-afternoon with some competitors saying it significantly helped the morning golfers…. The Lower North Coast District Golf Association sincerely thanks the Port Macquarie Golf Club and especially John Tracey, Neil Smith and Les Murphy for running a well organised and smooth day.

The Lower North Coast District Champion for 2021 is Lindsay Verdon from Port Macquarie with a score of 71. The District Senior Champion is another Port Macquarie member, David Bagust, who had the score of 73.

Division 1 Gross was won by Tristan Brindley from Wauchope with a score of 72 followed by Richard Went from Port Macquarie with 74. The Nett was won by Ron Mclaren followed by Rohan Abbott.

Division 2 Gross was won by Kevin Grounsell from Port Macquarie followed by Lee Thompson, also from Port Macquarie. Nett winners were Chris Gilbert and Ken Sheather.

Division 3 Gross winner and runner up are both Port Macquarie members Mark Haverfield and Darren Garvey. Corey Howard and Steve Manton were the Nett winner and runner up.

Division 4 was won by Viv King from Port Macquarie and Malcolm Taylor from Forster/Tuncurry was runner up. Adrian Shortland and Wies Nowak were Nett winner and runner up.

Sonny Barclay and Rory Falk, both Forster/Tuncurry members won and were runner up in the Junior Division.

District ‘Champion of Club Champions’ was won by Ron Clark from Port Macquarie while the District ‘Monthly Medal Champion’ was Rohan Abbott from Wingham.

It was terrific to see so many golfers from Port Macquarie and Forster Tuncurry in attendance. It was however disappointing that the rest of the LNC clubs did not patronise the event at levels seen in the past especially with the prize money up for grabs. Junior competitor numbers were also down. Hopefully we can build on this year to make the 2022 event bigger and better again.

Lyndsay Neilson

LNC Captain